The ITSM Process Design Guide: Developing, Reengineering, and Improving IT Service Management

  • 3h 14m
  • Donna Knapp
  • J. Ross Publishing
  • 2010

IT organizations increasingly recognize the need to design, re-design, and improve their internal IT service management (ITSM) processes. While popular frameworks such as the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL), Control Objectives for IT (COBIT), Microsoft Operations Framework (MOF), and the ISO/IEC 20000 standard describe what to do, they do not describe the mechanics of how to do it. The ITSM Process Design Guide: Developing, Rengineering and Improving IT Service Management closes the knowledge gap by providing detailed guidance on assessing, designing, measuring, and integrating ITSM processes. The advice and techniques in this book apply unilaterally to every IT service provider and ITSM framework, standard, and maturity model. While other books may touch on process design methods and techniques, there is no other publication dedicated specifically to developing, re-engineering and improving ITSM processes.

This guide is also the definitive reference source for the Certified Process Design Engineer (CPDE) qualification. The CPDE qualification imparts and validates knowledge of best practices in the assessment, design, integration, implementation, and management of ITSM processes. It recognizes the value of having a qualified CPDE within an organization and has been endorsed by The APM Group (ITIL's official accreditor) as a complementary qualification for the ITIL Qualification Scheme.

Key Features:

  • Fosters the understanding and integration of multiple ITSM frameworks, standards, and maturity models
  • Details and deconstructs ITSM process components, models, and deliverables
  • Includes strategies for gathering and analyzing process requirements to aid in analyzing and improving processes
  • Shows how to engage process stakeholders and incorporate ITSM best practices into your organization
  • Contains a methodology for developing meaningful metrics for your organization and ways to convert data into usable, actionable information
  • Includes proven ways to manage the organizational culture change required for continual process improvement

About the Author

Donna Knapp is a Certified Process Design Engineer (CPDE) with over 25 years of experience in the IT industry. Donna holds multiple ITSM certifications including: ITIL Expert, ITIL Service Manager, and various ITIL Intermediate and Capability certifications. Donna was one of the first globally to achieve the ITIL Expert and Certified Process Design Engineer (CPDE) certifications. She also holds the ISO/IEC 20000 Foundation and Consultant Certificates, and the Microsoft® Operations Framework (MOF) Foundation Certificate.

Donna serves as ITSM Academy’s Curriculum Development Manager, sits on the ITIL V3 International Examination Panel, and is the author of two textbooks: A Guide to Service Desk Concepts, Third Edition and A Guide to Customer Service Skills for the Service Desk Professional, Third Edition. She is also the author of the highly successful seminar “Achieving High Customer Satisfaction: Customer Service Skills for the Service Desk Professional.”

Donna’s background includes working as a practitioner, consultant, and trainer, and she brings to every engagement her practical experience and knowledge of ITSM topics. She is known as an entertaining, informative and sought-after speaker and seeks to promote the processes and best practices required to deliver high-quality customer support and IT services.

In this Book

  • Introduction
  • Defining and Analyzing Customer Requirements
  • Quality Management Principles
  • Defining and Documenting Processes
  • Assessing Process Maturity
  • Process Design and Improvement Steps
  • Process Design and Improvement Tools and Techniques
  • Producing Meaningful Metrics
  • Managing Organizational Change
  • It Service Management Technologies


Rating 4.6 of 4717 users Rating 4.6 of 4717 users (4717)
Rating 4.7 of 26 users Rating 4.7 of 26 users (26)