Accessibility and WCAG Compliance

  • 4 Topics | 18m
  • Up to 30 languages
  • Transcripts
Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act requires federal agencies to provide those who have disabilities with equal access to information and communication technology. In 2017, the US Access Board updated the Section 508 requirements. Among other changes, the Act now obliges federal agencies to comply with the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2.0 Level AA. Employees of federal agencies, especially those whose job roles involve developing information technology and resources, must be aware of and meet the updated requirements. In this course, you'll learn about the key changes to the Section 508 standards and the types of electronic content that must comply. You'll also learn about compliance with WCAG 2.0 and accessibility requirements for hardware, software, and support documentation used by federal agencies. This course was developed with subject matter support provided by the Labor, Employment, and Employee Benefits Law Group of the law firm of Sheehan Phinney Bass & Green PA. Please note, however, that the course materials and content are for informational purposes only and do not constitute legal advice. Nothing herein, or in the course materials, shall be construed as professional advice as to any particular situation or constitute a legal opinion with respect to compliance with any federal, state, or local laws. Transmission of the information is not intended to create, and receipt does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. Readers should not act upon this information without seeking professional counsel. The information contained herein is provided only as general information that may or may not reflect the most current legal developments. This information is not provided in the course of an attorney-client relationship and is not intended to constitute legal advice or to substitute for obtaining legal advice from an attorney licensed in your state.


  • identify factual statements regarding the Revised Section 508 accessibility guidelines
  • identify what types of electronic content and resources must comply with the updated Section 508 standards
  • recognize key statements about the WCAG 2.0 standards
  • recognize updated accessibility requirements under Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act


  • Understanding the Accessibility Requirements Update
  • Content That Must Comply with Section 508
  • Complying with WCAG 2.0
  • Exercise: Recognizing Accessibility Requirements