8 Steps to Better Security: A Simple Cyber Resilience Guide for Business

  • 3h 40m
  • Kim Crawley
  • John Wiley & Sons (US)
  • 2021

Harden your business against internal and external cybersecurity threats with a single accessible resource.

In 8 Steps to Better Security: A Simple Cyber Resilience Guide for Business, cybersecurity researcher and writer Kim Crawley delivers a grounded and practical roadmap to cyber resilience in any organization. Offering you the lessons she learned while working for major tech companies like Sophos, AT&T, BlackBerry Cylance, Tripwire, and Venafi, Crawley condenses the essence of business cybersecurity into eight steps.

Written to be accessible to non-technical businesspeople as well as security professionals, and with insights from other security industry leaders, this important book will walk you through how to:

  • Foster a strong security culture that extends from the custodial team to the C-suite
  • Build an effective security team, regardless of the size or nature of your business
  • Comply with regulatory requirements, including general data privacy rules and industry-specific legislation
  • Test your cybersecurity, including third-party penetration testing and internal red team specialists

Perfect for CISOs, security leaders, non-technical businesspeople, and managers at any level, 8 Steps to Better Security is also a must-have resource for companies of all sizes, and in all industries.

About the Author

KIM CRAWLEY focuses on researching and writing about cybersecurity issues. Her career has included work with Sophos, AT&T Cybersecurity, BlackBerry Cylance, Tripwire, and Venafi. She specializes in all matters red team, blue team, and purple team and is especially fascinated by malware, social engineering, and advanced persistent threats. She runs an online cybersecurity event called DisInfoSec.

In this Book

  • Foreword
  • Introduction
  • Step 1—Foster a Strong Security Culture
  • Step 2—Build a Security Team
  • Step 3—Regulatory Compliance
  • Step 4—Frequent Security Testing
  • Step 5—Security Framework Application
  • Step 6—Control Your Data Assets
  • Step 7—Understand the Human Factor
  • Step 8—Build Redundancy and Resilience
  • Afterword