Microsoft Certification Training

Discover Skillsoft as a trusted resource for MCSA, MCSD, MCSE, MOS, and MTA certification training.

Skillsoft offers hundreds of resources specifically geared toward Microsoft certification training

Expert-led online courses, books, virtual labs, and practice tests on all of the above topics are included in our IT portfolio.

Microsoft certifications are a trusted industry standard for measuring proficiency with Microsoft products and related technologies.

Whether you’re preparing to sit the exam or not, taking a Microsoft certification training course will equip you with essential skills to thrive in your IT career. It’s especially valuable for gaining skills in legacy software your company might still be using, but for which Microsoft has retired official certifications.

Microsoft Certification Categories

Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA)

Level: Beginner

Select topics: MS SQL Server 2012/2014, web application development, mobile app development, Windows 10, Windows Server 2012, Windows Server 2016

Legacy Topics: Windows 8, Windows Server 2008


Microsoft Certified Solutions Developer (MCSD)

Level: Intermediate

Select Topics: Azure, web app development, C#, HTML5, Application Lifecycle Management, Visual Studio, .Net

Legacy Topics: SharePoint


Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (MCSE)

Level: Expert

Select Topics: Cloud computing, Server infrastructure, Data Management and Analytics, Business Intelligence

Legacy Topics: SharePoint, Messaging, Enterprise Devices and Apps


Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS)

Level: Intermediate/Expert

Select Topics: MS Office 2013, MS Office 365

Legacy Topics: MS Office 2010


Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA)

Level: Introductory

Topics: Database Fundamentals, IT infrastructure, and Software Development Fundamentals


Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS)

Note: Microsoft has retired this certification, but certification training is valuable if you’re administrating legacy systems like Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008.