Certified Ethical Hacker Literacy (Beginner Level)

  • 18m
  • 18 questions
The Certified Ethical Hacker Literacy benchmark measures whether a learner has had exposure to the basic CEH practice including some experience with common CEH scenarios and processes. A learner who scores high on this benchmark demonstrates professional literacy in basic areas of the CEH discipline. This learner can participate in discussions and decision making scenarios.

Topics covered

  • define the five core elements of cybersecurity
  • describe ethical hacking, how it can be a great tool for helping to create a more secure network, and the skills and limitations common to ethical hackers
  • describe incident management and what it's designed to accomplish
  • describe risk as it pertains to cybersecurity, recognize the risk levels, and use a risk matrix to visualize risk
  • describe the nine steps of the incident handling and response process to help familiarize you with the actions and expectations you may need to take when properly dealing with a security incident
  • describe threat hunting and its usefulness, as well as the concept of indicators of compromise (IoC) in relation to threat hunting activities
  • describe threat modeling and the five steps common to the threat modeling process
  • recognize behavioral patterns typical with today's threat actors and APTs
  • recognize common standards and regulations that pertain to the varied world industries and organizations
  • recognize different attack classifications and examples of each
  • recognize how risk management helps to minimize the negative effects of risk and the five phases of risk management
  • recognize how tactics, techniques, and procedures (TTPs) can help you better understand the threats your organization faces
  • recognize information warfare categories and strategies
  • recognize the common motives, goals, and objectives of threat actors
  • recognize the four types of Cyber Threat Intelligence (CTI) and how CTI can be an effective tool for creating stronger defenses
  • recognize the seven phases of the Cyber Kill Chain, which aims to guide defenders in their understanding of commonly used attack strategies
  • recognize the types and use of artificial intelligence and machine learning and the role they play in the current cybersecurity battlefield
  • recognize what it means to be a hacker and the common hacker classes, as well as the five phases of hacking